It's ok to ask for help.

As I find more resources, this page will be updated.

Are you or a loved one in need of help? Have you been searching for hours for resources to help, but it’s gotten overwhelming because the information isn’t in an easy to read place? Whether you need help to pay your bills, are having mental health issues, or just want to put a present under your Christmas tree this year (or any other issue) we have resources to help you.

This list I’ve put together is not exhaustive, but it is quite a lot of information to take in all at once. This list was created with the help of many wonderful women and men all rallying together to try to help as many people as we possibly could. It took hours of extensive research to make sure all of the links and phone numbers are correct.

I have even added resources sent to me by email from my readers which is simply amazing! You guys rock! Thank you to everyone who has contributed so far.

Readers, please keep submitting your links to resources. I am more than happy to add them to my Resource Page for those who need help. To submit your resource, please email me at info@coffeeandkerfuffles.com and I will update the page as soon as possible. If you’d like to be credited, please let me know in the email and your information will be included.

The request for resources is not limited to the United States, Canada, or the United Kingdom. I am looking for resources all around the world so those of you who need help can find it all in one place.

Please share this page via social media. You never know who needs help but doesn’t want to ask for it.

United States

Suicide: If you are suicidal, please call the National Suicide Prevention Hotline at 1-800-273-TALK (8255). The phone number will automatically direct you to the local suicide hotline in your location. http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/talk-to-someone-now/

Abuse: If you are being abused, visit the National Domestic Violence Hotline, or call 1-800-799 SAFE

Child Safety: If you are concerned about the safety of a child, visit Child Help for assistance, or see their state by state listing. www.childhelp.org/hotline/

National Adult Protective Services: http://www.napsa-now.org/

Self Harm Hotline: 1-800-DONT CUT (1-800-366-8288)

United Way: The United Way is a national system of volunteers, contributors, and local charities helping people in their own communities. To locate available resources in your area, call the United Way’s 211 help number and speak to a trained resource and referral specialist. http://www.unitedway.org

Red Cross: http://www.redcross.org/

Modest Needs: Modest Needs offers the following types of grants: Self-Sufficiency Grants, New Employment Grants, and Independent Living Grants. http://www.modestneeds.org/

U.S. Dept. of Agriculture-Rural Development Multi-Family Housing Rentals provides an online search tool to locate accessible, government-assisted rural rental properties in all U.S. states. http://www.rdmfhrentals.sc.egov.usda.gov/RDMFHRentals/select_state.jsp

US Dept of Housing and Urban Development offers many resources & referrals to assist renters, homebuyers and homeowners in finding affordable housing, avoiding foreclosure and connecting with housing support programs. Provides referrals to approved housing counselors. Helps clients understand housing rights & responsibilities, incl. Fair Housing Act.

https://www.hud.gov/

Legal Aid: http://www.usa.gov/legal-aid

Insurance: Kaiser Family Foundation Provides information on Medicaid benefits for each state. http://www.kff.org/

Food Banks: Feeding America: Food bank information and resource locator. http://www.feedingamerica.org/?referrer=https://www.google.co.uk/

Employment Help: Career One Stop Centers: Provides free employment and training services. Open to all job seekers. http:// www.careeronestop.org/

Holiday Assistance: Toys for Tots http://www.toysfortots.org/ Salvation Army: http://www.salvationarmyusa.org/usn/christmas-assistance

Holiday Assistance Donation Guide: https://www.creditcards.com/credit-card-news/holiday-assistance-donation-guide.php

Veterinary Care Assistance: The RedRover Relief grants for emergency vet care provides funding, advice and other resources to thousands of applicants each year. In addition to the services that RedRover provides directly, RedRover has compiled a comprehensive directory of organizations in the United States and Canada that can provide financial assistance with veterinary care. http://www.redrover.org/find-financial-assistance-veterinary-care (US and Canada)

Free Grants for Women:  This site offers grants specifically for women who need assistance. They have many of the same resources listed on their website as I have listed here on C&K, but they also have handy guides for how to apply for various programs. http://freegrantsforwomen.org/

Free Grants for Native Americans: http://grantsfornativeamericans.org/

Free Grants for Veterans: http://freegrantsforveterans.org/

Canada

Suicide Hotline: List of resources per province: http://www.suicide.org/hotlines/international/canada-suicide-hotlines.html

National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-363-9010

Family Violence: http://www.canada.justice.gc.ca/eng/cj-jp/fv-vf/help-aide.html#res

The Canadian Network for the Prevention of Elder Abuse: http://www.cnpea.ca/en/

Red Cross: http://www.redcross.ca/

Legal Aid: http://www.justice.gc.ca/eng/fund-fina/gov-gouv/aid-aide.html

Employment Help: http://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/corporate/portfolio/service-canada.html

Housing Benefits: https://www.canada.ca/en/services/benefits/housing.html

Food Banks: https://www.foodbankscanada.ca/utility-pages/find-a-food-bank.aspx

Holiday Assistance: Salvation Army https://www.salvationarmy.ca/christmas-assistance/

United Kingdom

Suicide: https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/suicide/

Domestic Abuse: 0808 2000 247 http://www.nationaldomesticviolencehelpline.org.uk/

Elder Abuse: https://www.elderabuse.org.uk/helpline

Self Harm: https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/self-harm/

Legal Aid: http://www.gov.uk/legal-aid

Housing: Citizens Advice Bureau Housing https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/housing/

Employment Help: UK Citizens Advice Bureau. http://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/work/

Food Banks: Trussell Trust https://www.trusselltrust.org/get-help/find-a-foodbank/

Worldwide Resources

Befrienders Worldwide offers suicide prevention and support worldwide. http://www.befrienders.org/help-and-support

Educational Guides

Recognizing Domestic Abuse: www.drugrehab.com/guides/domestic-abuse/

Get help for Alcohol Addiction: www.drugrehab.com/addiction/alcohol/

How to pay for emergency pet care: https://lendedu.com/blog/how-to-pay-for-emergency-pet-care/

Alcohol Addiction and Alcohol Abuse: https://www.therecoveryvillage.com/alcohol-abuse/

Locate The Best Inpatient Drug Rehab Center: https://www.rehabcenter.net/inpatient-rehab-centers/

Alcohol Recovery Guide: https://addictionresource.com/alcohol/recovery/

Smoking & Vaping Guide: https://vapingdaily.com/

The Benefits of Rehab:  www.RehabSpot.com/Treatment/The-Benefits-Of-Rehab

Substance Abuse & Sleep Disorders: https://www.tuck.com